School Logo

Meet the Governors

Welcome to the Governing Body Section.


Our GB meets every half term to discuss key aspects of school development. Their job is to establish a strategic plan for the school and to work with the school leadership to ensure the best possible outcomes for our pupils. They need to know about everything that goes on in school and particularly if we are achieving value for money.


Their ultimate aim is to improve achievement for all pupils - supporting and challenging our school leaders in the process. Note that all our governors have signed a register of percuniary interest that indicates they have no links to businesses, agencies or otherwise that could gain favour (financial or otherwise) from the decisions of the governing body.


Angela Tinning is our Chair of Governors and Lee Corby is our Vice Chair. If you wish to contact them please speak to the school office for contact details.  

Jenna Wilkinson, is an experienced school leader in her own right at Walbottle Campus. She works in SEND and has great experience with KS3 transition as well as policy and procedure in support of vulnerable pupils.

Mrs Leeming works alongside the GB but is also held to account for the way in which she runs the school. Mr Garrod is our staff representative on the GB.


Currently there are 13 members in our Governing Body:


3 parent governors (appointed by parents):

Mr D Carville (Curriculum Committee)

Mrs K Costigan (Staffing & Finance Committee)

Mrs J Ayers (Curriculum Committee)

2 Foundation Trust governors (appointed by the Governing Body):  

Mrs E Douse (Staffing & Finance Committee)

Mrs A Tinning (Staffing & Finance Committee & Chair of Governors)

1 Staff governor (appointed by the staff):

Mr T Garrod (Curriculum Committee)

1 Local Authority governor (appointed by the LA):

Mr A Fraser (Staffing & Finance Committee)

4 Co-opted governors (appointed by the Governing Body):

Mrs W Leeming (Headteacher)

Mr L Corby (Staffing & Finance Committee & Vice Chair)

Mrs J Wilkinson, (Curriculum Committee)

Mrs W Gair (Curriculum Committee)

2 Associate Governors (appointed by the Governing Body):

Mrs K Sample (Curriculum Committee)

Mrs S Selkirk 

   Clerk to the Governors

Claire Hepple



Governor Attendance  2022-2023      
Governor Term Start Term End Pecuniary Interest Attendance at Meetings
Angela Tinning 01/09/2014 31/08/2022 None 2/6
Adam Fraser 20/03/2019 19/03/2022 None 2/6
Joanne Ayers 21/01/2019 20/01/2023 None 2/6
Karen Sample 20/03/2019 19/01/2023 None 2/6
Kayleigh Costigan 21/01/2019 20/01/2023 None 2/6
Tom Garrod 20/03/2019 19/03/2023 None 2/6
Lee Corby 04/01/2016 03/01/2024 None 2/6
Sharon Selkirk 01/09/2016 31/08/2024 None 2/6
Wendy Leeming 01/09/2016 - None 3/9
Jenna Wilkinson 06/07/2016 06/07/2024 None 


Emma Douse 01/04/2016 31/03/2024 Peter Gallagher Joinery & member of teaching staff 2/6



Previous Governors

Dave McKillop 23/01/2019 (DOI Governor at Wylam First School)

Carol Brown 05/09/2018 (No DOI)

Don Lamb 02/11/2018 (No DOI)

Julie Darby 02/03/2022 (No DOI)


We work closely as a team particularly with the Headteacher and senior staff on a wide variety of tasks which include:

Developing a strategic plan for the school;

Determining school aims, policies and priorities

Setting targets

Monitoring and evaluating the work of the school

Appointing staff

Managing the budget

Securing high levels of attendance and good standards of student behaviour

Ensuring that all children in school have access to a broad and balanced curriculum

Ensuring the health and safety of pupils and staff 


The minutes of our Governing Body meetings are available on request from the school office.